DAILY MAGPIE – Sunday, Feburary 8 at Family in LA: Silkscreened Posters + Vibes

from our friends at FAMILY:

Come to the opening of Boom! A silk-screened poster show at Family featuring:

Misaki Kawai
Shara Hughes
Hisham Bharoocha

Denise Kupferschmidt
Patrick Walsh III

David Aron

Espen Friberg
Brooke Inman
Ryan Waller
Adam Kaufman
Ted McGrath
Maryam Nassirzadeh
Anna Lowe Gustavi
Holly Stevenson

Family is proud to present Boom, an exhibition of two color silkscreen prints by artists from Europe and the US. The prints are deftly hand silkscreened, the two-color limit lending to experiments with multi-colored pulls, varnishes, and neons. Produced at the Lower East Side Printshop in the tradition of Barbara Kruger and Kara Walker.

The opening will include the debut performance of Vibes (members of Pocahaunted and Robedoor).

You may know Holly Stevenson from her book of drawings, Mexican Love Story, published by Nieves.

More images at the Family events blog.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

About Jay Babcock

I am an independent writer and editor based in Tucson, Arizona. In 2022: I publish a weeklyish email newsletter called LANDLINE = https://jaybabcock.substack.com Previously: I co-founded and edited Arthur Magazine (2002-2008, 2012-13) and curated the three Arthur music festival events (Arthurfest, ArthurBall, and Arthur Nights) (2005-6). Prior to that I was a district office staffer for Congressman Henry A. Waxman, a DJ at Silver Lake pirate radio station KBLT, a copy editor at Larry Flynt Publications, an editor at Mean magazine, and a freelance journalist contributing work to LAWeekly, Mojo, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Vibe, Rap Pages, Grand Royal and many other print and online outlets. An extended piece I wrote on Fela Kuti was selected for the Da Capo Best Music Writing 2000 anthology. In 2006, I was somehow listed in the Music section of Los Angeles Magazine's annual "Power" issue. In 2007-8, I produced a blog called "Nature Trumps," about the L.A. River. From 2010 to 2021, I lived in rural wilderness in Joshua Tree, Ca., where I practiced with Buddhist teacher Ruth Denison and was involved in various pro-ecology and social justice activist activities.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s