[audio:http://www.arthurmag.com/magpie/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/WKWTMB-Teaser.mp3|titles=WKWTMB Teaser]

This new 16-track compilation/mixtape is now available direct from Arthur to your internet connection as a $4.20 digital download. It’s a collection of songs from recent (or forthcoming) releases that we’ve been digging lately that you might not have heard.

Here’s the track listing:

1. PURLING HISS – “Run From the City” (Woodsist Records)
2. TED LUCAS – “It’s So Easy (when you know what you’re doing)” (Om Records)
3. DOUG PAISLEY – “No One But You” (No Quarter Records)
4. SONNY AND THE SUNSETS – “Stranded” (Fat Possum Records)
5. TENNIS – “Take Me Somewhere” (Fat Possum Records)
6. THE INTELLIGENCE – “Like Like Like Like Like Like Like” (In the Red Records)
7. MARNIE STERN – “Building a Body” (Kill Rock Stars)
8. NOBUNNY – “Gone for Good” (Goner Records)
9. THE FLIPS – “I Just Don’t Know Where I Stand Anymore” (HoZac Records)
10. IDLE TIMES – “There You Go” (HoZac Records)
11. WOODS – “Suffering Season” (Woodsist Records)
12. JIM DICKINSON reads “The Congo” by Vachel Lindsay (Birdman Records)
13. LIMES – “Good Times” (Goner Records)
14. PETER STAMPFEL & BABY GRAMPS – “Bar Bar” (Red Newt Records)
15. THE GROWLERS – “Sea Lion Goth Blues” (Everloving)
16. LOWER DENS – “Truss Me” (Gnomonsong Records)

Compiled and sequenced by Jay Babcock
Cover photography by Kevin Bauman
Design by Stephanie Smith
Engineered by Bobby Tamkin at The Sound Ranch

Click the following link to purchase using a debit card, credit card or Paypal account. A link containing the “Who Knows What Tomorrow Might Bring” zip file (digital music files [192kpbs mp3s], artwork, credits sheet, etc.) will be emailed to you upon payment.

All proceeds help Arthur Magazine to resist economic pressures.

BUY NOW – $4.20

Thank you kindly, hope you enjoy.

The Arthur Gang

Mon, Sept 21, L.A.: Arthur and When You Awake present Doug Paisley, more at the Echo, FREE


Canadian country-folk musician Doug Paisley‘s debut album was released late last year through No Quarter Records, its understated beauty capturing the admiration of Arthur’s C and D, who were scheduled to review it in their column in the tragically unpublished Arthur No. 32. The album’s been kinda underheard since, but whatever, that’s the underhearers’ problem, right?

In any event, this month Mr. Paisley (who is now being “managed” by Arthur’s Jay Babcock) will be traveling to California to perform as a solo artist for the first time ever in the Golden State at a bunch of affordable, all-ages shows. (Some folks may have seen Paisley before as one-half of the Dark Hand and Lamplight duo with artist Shary Boyle when they opened for Bonnie Prince Billy on a California jaunt in 2006.)

Catch this rich-voiced Torontonian troubadour, mustachioed or otherwise, at the following time-space coordinates:

Mon Sep 21 2009 8:00P at The Echo w/ Leslie & Badgers Los Angeles (free!) (see poster above) (presented by Arthur, put together by the great When You Awake blog)
Tue Sep 22 2009 8:00P The Crepe Place Santa Cruz
Wed Sep 23 2009 8:00P Rickshaw Stop San Francisco
Thu Sep 24 2009 8:00P Cafe Coda Chico
Fri Sep 25 2009 8:00P Henry Miller Library Big Sur
Sat Sep 26 2009 8:00P McCabe’s Guitar Shop w/Stan Ridgway Santa Monica
Sun Sep 27 2009 8:00P Che Cafe San Diego

Doug Paisley myspace: myspace.com/dougpaisley

Tuesday night fried out beautiful doom blues: HEADDRESS



Download: “The Lost White Brother” – Headdress (mp3)

There are few more appropriate sounds than these for that part of the night when you’ve been working the old beer/greens combo and the couch seems like a great place to go visit.

Buy this whole goddamn record (called Lunes) from these guys here. This record was made possible by No Quarter Records of New York City, home of Endless Boogie, The Psychic Paramount, Circle and Doug Paisley.